As the needle bends

A world view thru my hobbit hole door

Happy April Fools’ Day

When I was much younger, April Fools' Day was a time to play tricks on my friends and celebrate my cousin's birthday (Happy Birthday, Danny!) but now it seems to be a time to read articles in the news, shake my head and pray that they are all just jokes. 

Of course, the first joke is that we have to "spring forward" into Daylight Savings Time. Who do "they" think they are fooling? You don't save any daylight by running your clock ahead an hour. You just move it around.  Of all the commodities that the government tries to turn into zero-sum commodities (like prosperity) where the concept that my having more of _ _ _ _ means someone else would, as a result, have less, Daylight is the ONE for which it is true. Yet, the guvment seems to think that they can mandate moving the hands on my clock forward an hour, so that I'm driving home from work in the sunshine, and fool me into believing that there is actually MORE sunshine.

 But I know better. When there is MORE sunshine, I drive to work in the daylight, and drive home in the daylight.  When there is less, I drive to work in the dark, and drive home in the dark.  Yesterday, I left for work in the daylight, and got home in the dark – but Monday… I will leave for work in the dark, and get home in the daylight. Does any of that make any sense????

SIGH…. I suppose I should just pray that daylight in the evenings will make all the 4 gajillion commuters on the Houston area freeways drive safer, til I can escape to rural utopia.

April 1, 2006 - Posted by | Life and Ramblings

1 Comment »

  1. BSue

    Didn’t all that time change have to do with the kids not waiting for their busses in the dark? I’ts been going on so long now, that I can’t remember!

    Comment by pmartin | April 2, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

