As the needle bends

A world view thru my hobbit hole door

Jews in Iran to have to wear yellow armbands?

The more I read about President Unpronounceable of Iran, the more I shake my head. It has become a habit with me to check out the Jerusalem Post online pretty much daily, to see what is happening in that part of the world, then check some Arabic/Middle Eastern news sites. I have NOT made it to the Arabic ones yet but HAD to post something about this article, which I find so absolutely outrageous that I can barely type.

A new dress-code law reportedly passed in Iran this past week mandates the government to make sure that religious minorities – Christians, Jews and Zoroastrians – will have to adopt distinct colour schemes to make them identifiable in public, the Canadian National Post reported on Friday.

Under the new law, which still awaits final approval from Iran’s supreme leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, Jews will have to wear a yellow band on their exterior in public, while Christians will be required to don red ones.

If the law is approved, it is scheduled to go into effect at the beginning of next year.

The story naturally outlines some responses from Israelis and Jews around the world, who are, quite understandably outraged. I have included a couple here but hopefully you have already clicked the links and read the whole story.

Meretz Chairman Yossi Beilin said, "Israel could no longer be satisfied with warnings, and that the moment Jews are forced to wear the yellow band, Israel must act to evacuate all Jews from Iran." He added that, "Israel must stand at the forefront of efforts to separate Iran’s crazy and Hitlerite regime from government control."

"The new law resembles the Holocaust," said head of the Simon Wiesenthal Center in Los Angeles, Rabbi Marvin Heir, and warned that, "Iran was nearing Nazi Ideology."

I am virtually speechless at reading this. I would encourage you to share this information with anyone you can, in order to help assure that this outrage is not overlooked.

The new law was drafted during the presidency of Muhammad Khatami in 2004, but was blocked. That blockage, however, has been removed under pressure from current President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.

According to Ahmadinejad, reported the National Post, the new Islamic uniforms will establish "visual equality" for Iranians as they prepare for the return of the Hidden Imam.

Meanwhile, the Iranian clergy are blaming deaths in Iran from last week on – you guessed it – Israel and the United States.

Tehran’s substitute Friday prayers leader Ayatollah Mohammad Emami Kashani on
Friday held the US, especially CIA, and Zionists responsible for recent cold
blood killings southeast of Iran, saying enemy has targeted the country’s border
security, economy, universities and science. "Our enemies which are the US and
Zionists — and of course Zionists give lessons to Americans too — have
targeted security on borders, economy, universities and science in Iran," said
Ayatollah Kashani in his second sermon to multitudes of worshippers at this
week’s Friday prayers congregation at Tehran University campus.

I am reminded of the quote that those who forget history are condemned to repeat it. We have not forgotten.

As The Needle Bends

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

May 19, 2006 - Posted by | Life and Ramblings

1 Comment »

  1. My name is jake, my hebrew name is Yachov, im beyond out raged at this nazi like move by iran. my brothers and sisters arround the world and through time have repetedly suffered persicution at the hands of narrow minded dictators of all kinds. WE have a saying that all jews know,-WE WILL NEVER FORGET-.the atrocities we as a people have endured goes beyond what people call pregudiced or raccist. so much to the fact that there is a word specificly used to describe the HATRED for us. ANTISEMATISIM, to hate jews. I myself have fought skinheadads, neonazis, even afew arabs because of the blood that runs through my veins. i wear a star of david arround my neck to remind me that my G-D is above me, that HEs above us all. am i or my people to wear ARM BANDS so every jew hater in the world can try to kill us? forgive my language but F#*k THAT!!! yet if my brothers in iran must, i will, just to show my support for them. except mine will be blue, with a gold star. i hope that it doesnt come to that, yet if it does i ask that the jews in the USA join me. -WE WILL NEVER FORGET!!!!!-
    jake

    Comment by Jake | May 27, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

