As the needle bends

A world view thru my hobbit hole door

When terror attacks come to our schools…

After reading about the school bus incident in Tampa last week, my husband and I were discussing what many fear is an inevitability in this country: that the attacks we read about or see on television will come to our nation, to our state, to our town. The same types of attacks that we have seen in Beslan, in Israel, in Madrid, and London will eventually occur here. The only questions are when, & where, and, I suppose, what? In my morning trek through my favorites, I found this article on The Northeast Intelligence Network’s website – Special Reports : Are plans in place if schools attacked? Written by Lt. Col. Joseph C. Myers in late 2004, and reposted with a tagline reading “With the recent probing events at U.S. schools, it needs to be republished and spread in the public venue.”  In light of the recent events, I would agree.

The article whole article is well worth a read, and is posed from the point of view of a rural sheriff, and I was shocked awake to read this portion:

Its now 8:47 a.m., and you receive a call from the city police, who relay that they just got a hysterical 911 call from the school. “People with guns are in the school!”

What you don’t know is that this scenario is also simultaneously playing out in rural schools in Oregon, Colorado, Kentucky and Maine.

What do you do?

For the other question that we discussed that morning, in addition to when, where, and what, was indeed – how many places at one time would the bad guys hit.

As The Needle Bends

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

 

May 23, 2006 - Posted by | Life and Ramblings

3 Comments »

  1. What would be done if this happened at a lot of schools is academic. In a kind of self sorting way those incidents would come to an end.
    The populace responce would indicate what sort of controlls would come. I would predict hysterical and ineffective.

    For me the question is; Is my child in that school?
    Have I researced survivor information of terrorist/school scenarios and gone over them with my children.

    What am I going expect to do and what are they going to depend on me to do.

    Comment by NAT PIERCE | May 23, 2006 | Reply

  2. correction:
    What am I going to expect my children to do and what are they going to depend on me to do.

    Comment by NAT PIERCE | May 23, 2006 | Reply

  3. Nat,
    I applaud you for thinking to prepare your children for such an eventuality. By reaction my thinking was more like the DLWM wringing their collective hands and demanding President Bush do something. Like you said, hysterical and ineffective.

    Comment by bsue | May 23, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

