As the needle bends

A world view thru my hobbit hole door

Mom’s Assessment of the Birdcage Liner

After “having my needle bent” all day about the egregious actions of the NY Times in publishing details of a classified program that the United States had successfully been using to thwart financial support, through overseas banks, of the terrorists whose goal in life is to destroy as many Americans as they can, I came home and was perusing the many posts and comments on LoneStarTimes. There I found a link to a blog called “Some Soldier’s Mom” and this lady put my feelings into words as only the mother of a soldier who has been there could. I feel that my ire over this incident is so trivial by comparison to the justifiable outrage of this woman whose family has been in harm’s way that I’ll just give you a taste of her eloquently worded “rant” and a link to the whole thing, which is definitely worth a click and a minute or two to read.

You (Keller) have this grossly inflated image and idea that you are somehow above the law and would have us all believe that you and your paper are “guardians” for the American people and that you are there to protect the average American by “exposing” these programs. If anyone is buying this malarkey, I have a bridge to sell them. And, Bill, I have more news for you: you are a no one. You are a citizen just like me. You have no higher right or authority — implicit or explicit — to be the arbiter of what is or is not in the interest of national security than any of the rest of us. I don’t get to make that determination and neither do you. In actuality, because you have the power of the press, I hold you to an even greater standard to err on the side of caution in cases of national security and to not use the newspaper as a pulpit to push your own personal agenda. And like the Emperor and his clothes, some may pat you on the back and “oooh” and “ahhhh” over your position, but I’m here to tell you, Bill, that you are naked as a blue jay.
Some Soldier’s Mom: If Dirt Were $$$$

Mom, I apologize for the title. I don’t think you’d approve of exposing a poor defenseless bird to the drivel called the NY Times.

As The Needle Bends

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

June 26, 2006 - Posted by | Life and Ramblings

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

