As the needle bends

A world view thru my hobbit hole door

Merry Christmas, Ya’ll!

As I was perusing the Van Horn Advocate for any updates on “Eyes on the Border,” since Edd Hendee delivered the plane to the Border Sheriff’s Association this past week, I ran across an article from which I am excerpting:

A woman was doing her last-minute Christmas shopping at a crowded mall. She was tired of fighting the crowds. She was tired of standing in lines. She was tired of fighting her way down long aisles looking for a gift that had sold out days before.
Her arms were full of bulky packages when the elevator door opened. It was full. The occupants of the elevator grudgingly tightened ranks to allow a small space for her and her load. As the doors closed she blurted out, “Whoever is responsible for this whole Christmas thing ought to be arrested, strung up, and shot!”
A few others nodded their heads or grunted in agreement. Then, from somewhere in the back of the elevator came a single voice that said,

“Don’t worry. They already crucified him.”

Phil McCraw, San Antonio, Texas

This article reminded me that so many people lose sight of the "reason for the season," in all the hustle and bustle of preparations for Christmas. I, myself, am caught up in last minute preparations for family gift giving, as I began a tradition, many years ago, of making most of my Christmas gifts. The reason for this is not parsimony, but a feeling of connection with the person for whom I am creating a gift during the creative process. Unbeknownst to many of the recipients (teenagers, in particular) this tradition is often more expensive, both in time and materials, than simply going to the local discount house and picking up a half dozen what-ever-the-fad-is’s for the teens, and half a dozen something-else’s for the adults. However, when I have had to resort to doing that, I felt empty and the holiday seemed much less meaningful. So I will take this opportunity to wish all of you a very Merry Christmas, and go chain myself back to my sewing machine to finish my gifts, while remembering that celebrating Jesus’s birth is still the Reason for the Season… Eternal life is still the gift He gave by coming to dwell on Earth as a mortal, and dying to pay the price for our sins, if only we will accept that gift.

May you find Him now, and may He bless you at this time and throughout the coming year!

Merry Christmas, ya’ll! See ya after the holiday hustle and bustle dies down to a dull roar!

As The Needle Bends

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

December 16, 2006 - Posted by | Life and Ramblings

3 Comments »

  1. Merry Christmas. Nice Story. Thanks For the Reminder.

    Chris,
    Thanks for stopping by, and Merry Christmas to you and yours!
    BSue

    Comment by Chris Stevens | December 16, 2006 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the message, Bsue! Christmas has become way too commerialized. CHRISTmas is the Reason for the Season. I don’t care if I get gifts, but if I ever got a homemade gift, I would treasure it the most! We always have a birthday cake on Christmas, and we always sing Happy Birthday to Jesus. That way our kids will never forget what the holiday is all about. One of my favorite gifts was something that my mama gave me a long time ago.

    It was a little tiny wrapped gift and says:
    This is a very special gift
    That you can never see.
    The reason it’s so special is
    It’s just for you from me.

    Whenever you are lonely
    Or even feeling blue,
    You only have to hold this gift
    And know I think of you.

    You never can unwrap it.
    Please leave the ribbon tied.
    Just hold the box close to your heart.
    It’s filled with love inside.

    Love Always, Mom

    (sorry for the long post!) I still have my box of love!

    No need to apologize. I have one of those boxes of love somewhere, too. Thanks for the memories.
    My birthday, like Soldier Mom’s, is on the 22nd. Most of my birthday cakes were Christmas themes of some sort – I always thought it was kinda neat to start the celebration of Jesus’s birth on my birthday.

    Comment by southerntragedy | December 17, 2006 | Reply

  3. Great story, thank you. Merry Christmas to you and yours. Love your Blog!
    And a very Merry Christmas to you and yours~

    Comment by T. W. Gibson | December 19, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

