As the needle bends

A world view thru my hobbit hole door

Project Quilt Resuscitation

As you may have read in my previous post, a friend and I are considering rescuing a 60 year old quilt given to her parents as a wedding gift, in 1947. One of the Dutch Doll’s dresses is almost gone. I am posting a picture, in hopes that someone out there in the quilting blogdom will recognize this fabric and have a scrap in their stash that we can beg, borrow or buy.

495344997_e711dd1f9f

I know that it is very hard to see – because it IS very hard to see. The background is a soft buttery yellow (may have been more intense at some point in its life) with one visible spray of tiny white flowers (appear to be lilys of the valley) outlined in dark pink/purple/maroon, and some other larger flower – maybe a thistle, of the maroon-ish color. I will need about a 5″x6.5″ piece – and, as the dress is not full width – it need not be a whole rectangle – it’s more of a polygon or triangle – 6″ at the widest (so I added a half inch to cover the 1/4″ seam allowance), and is about 4.5″ tall. If you have something that resembles this, or is even vaguely similar, please let me know, and maybe we can work a trade, or something.

Thanks in advance for thinking of helping me make Sue a new dress ;0}

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

May 12, 2007 - Posted by | Life and Ramblings, Quilting and Hobbies (wishing I had 'spare' time)

1 Comment »

  1. I may have some vintage fabric that will work… can you tell me how much you need? Is it just enough for the one dress? Do you still need? I have a couple of possibles I could send you a 12″ block of… No charge, just need your address, or an address to send to.
    I live in Littlefield, TX. You can check my website for my location.
    Marge Campbell

    BSue said: Thanx Marge – email is on the way.

    Comment by Marge Campbell | May 13, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

