As the needle bends

A world view thru my hobbit hole door

Of September 11th’s Gone By

Yamel Jager Merino, EMT-P
 age 24 
Yonkers, N.Y.
MetroCare Ambulance

 

Died September 11, 2001

at the World Trade Center

 

We will never forget.

We must always remember

all the others whose lives were lost, or changed

Read more about Yamel

I never met Yamel. The things we had in common were that we were both female paramedics in an industry that is primarily male (EMS), both got up the morning of September 11, 2001, and went to work for a private EMS provider, and she died while caring for those in need. I came home.

I will always remember. I can never forget.

WE MUST NEVER FORGET.

 The above is my post from September 11, 2006 on the 5th anniversary.  And, no, I did not forget – I wanted to write something new to show that I still remember Yamel. That I still think about what happened that day almost every day. I remember driving into Houston and how strange it was to have empty skies. Those of you who have been into Houston from the north will understand – the freeway I frequent is in the flight path to Bush Intercontinental Airport, and it is very eerie to see the sky completely empty of air traffic. I think of that time, and the feelings I had in those days often.

I have not forgotten, nor have I joined the ranks of those who seem to think that we will never be attacked again. I choose to live. I choose to honor Yamel Merino’s death by trying to make sure that I live each and every minute given to me to the fullest. No – we must never forget.

I CHOOSE TO REMEMBER

September 11, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. You are so right. We must carry on living our lives, but never forget those that lost theirs 🙂

    Comment by Helen in the UK | September 12, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thats so nice to see someone who didnt even know her those beautiful things. I did know Yamel. She was my best friend… we lived together for years,… she was full of life and everyone love her… God Bless and thank you…
    Laina

    Comment by Laina | September 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. Laina,
    Thank you for reminding me – for the first year since 2001, September 11 went by largely unmarked, except in my mind. We were in the process of evacuating for Hurricane Ike, and I was in the run-up for something I’d never experienced before – a real live hurricane. As I went about my tasks on September 11 this year, I was far from my computer, and was unable to write anything new… but trust me – I did not forget. My thoughts, as we were preparing for evacuation of some of the hospitals in the Houston area, and trying to make room at the major Trauma Center – where I am assigned – in anticiapation of casualties, were that this must’ve been much of what Yamel was thinking and doing, as she responded to the Trade Centers. And I will continue to honor her memory every time I am in a situation even remotely like that. No – I was NOT in danger, but then I don’t imagine that Yamel thought she was either, that day. She was just doing what she’d been trained to do, what God put in her heart to do for others.

    I would have been honored to know her, and am grateful that you shared your thoughts on my blog.
    Bobbie Fuller, EMT-P
    American Medical Response – Houston

    Comment by bsue | September 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

