As the needle bends

A world view thru my hobbit hole door

A lovely squishie – How cool is that?

Recently, I read a post on one of the many blogs I surf through daily. The title, "A Milestone," caught my eye in the wee hours of Memorial Day, 2008 because Tracy, of Fiber Babble, had described a mystery visitor to her blog. The mysterious mad clicker had been to the site 86 times in just over a month, connected through an ISP in East Texas (I don’t live in Lufkin, but close enough that I was guessing I was the guilty party!), and didn’t come from through a link from another blog. Since I have her blog bookmarked, and read through the bookmarks most mornings, while sipping my morning coffee (and sometimes in the evening, just to see if anyone posted something new while I was in "Planet Houston" working)… I was guessing that I was the mystery visitor.

Tracy and I are in at least one YahooGroup together, and she offered some assistance while I was making wallets for the guys in my life’s Christmas gifties. That’s how I learned of her blog, and how she came to be in my bookmarks.

As a reward for pushing her blog stats up to where some "stranger" made the 10,000 visit milestone, she generously offered me a little gift from the Petal Patterns site, where she is one of the 3 quilting gurus. After perusing the pictures there, I was intrigued by "Dream Stars," because of the circular movement created by the design, although the description assured me that the field of the quilt is created entirely from squares of 2 different sizes. And, today, while I was wandering aimlessly (not a chance) through Hancocks Fabrics trying to decide which of their 50% off batiks needed to come live at my house, my DH called and told me that he’d checked the snail mail, and found something for me that’d been waiting there since the mail carrier came by yesterday. I could not imagine what it was, and he was most un-helpful, telling me that he couldn’t reveal more or he’d spoil someone’s surprise. Imagine that – I didn’t remember that I was suppose to HAVE a surprise!

When I got home, I found the most wonderful pattern I have read in a long time, along with a letter, suggesting that I read ALL the instructions before I started. WOW!!! Although I don’t have time right now to begin another project, I can hardly wait to give this one a try. After reading through the steps, I feel thoroughly comfortable with the techniques, and don’t anticipate any problems at all. Except for two… The first will be finding time for this unplanned visitor to my quilting world (after all, I do have a no-mail round robin to finish, an ugly fabric challenge to complete, and YES – Sunbonnet Sue is still limping along slowly in the destruction phase of her reconstruction), and the second….. which fabrics would be perfect for this design???? Decisions, decisions decisions…

Thanks a million, Tracy. You made my weekend!

June 1, 2008 - Posted by | 14739, Quilting and Hobbies (wishing I had 'spare' time)

3 Comments »

  1. Wow, those Dream Stars are awesome! I love the bending effect. You’ll have to share a photo when you make it.

    Comment by Aileen | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. Wow, what a nice write up! Thanks so much for the kind words, and being a loyal (or mad) clicker. 🙂

    I’ll “see” ya at the Ugly Fabric Challenge on Sunday. Heheheh.

    Comment by Tracy | June 13, 2008 | Reply

  3. thanks for the kind thoughts about dream stars. i hope you eventually get around to making it. tracy sent me here to see your post. one thing the pattern does not say, is that i always (if i can) use the shapecut ruler, and boy does it help when cutting out 120 of anything.

    Comment by linda rolloff | June 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

