As the needle bends

A world view thru my hobbit hole door

Judy Laquidara’s Star BOM 1, test run

It’s not the fabric choices that I published – it’s my old tried and true Aunt Grace’s… What is there to match? What decisions to make? Throw the solids and the prints together, with Kona white (Nannie would’ve called it “bleached domestic” – and OH, these prints remind me so much of her and her feedsack quilts!)… But it went together better than I expected (tho’ I have NOT laid a ruler over it to measure)…
Test Run of Judy L's Star BOM #1

Test Run of Judy L's Star BOM #1

Here’s my first test of the first block I’ve EVER made with cut triangles. Always before I’ve used the square on the corner of a rectangle… and I was filled with trepidation… but I must admit, it turned out pretty darned good for a test run! Disclaimer: As someone else said, PLEASE don’t look at the back ;0}

Now I’m going to have to find the background fabric for the “real” fabric choices, and get cracking on the “real” block of the month.

August 2, 2008 - Posted by | Life and Ramblings, Quilting and Hobbies (wishing I had 'spare' time) | , ,

12 Comments »

  1. So, what did you just do? Switch horses? Start a second quilt (before you started the first)? Make half of a tote bag? Add to your UFO pile?

    😉

    (Looks very neat and tidy from this angle, btw. No need to look at the back.)

    BSue said:
    Nah – I just borrowed some of those solids from the Amish
    :0}

    Comment by Tracy | August 2, 2008 | Reply

  2. Great job! You’re doing great!

    Comment by Vicky | August 2, 2008 | Reply

  3. This is really sweet looking. I think you should make the quilt out of Aunt Gracie.

    Comment by Perry | August 2, 2008 | Reply

  4. that looks just wonderful!!!

    i couldn’t even open the file 😥

    you did a GREAT job on it!!!

    **cheers

    Comment by grace | August 2, 2008 | Reply

  5. This is a ‘practice block’? Looks awfully good to me!

    Comment by Gail | August 3, 2008 | Reply

  6. Thanks for the comment. It was your original fabric selection that inspired my choice for the “large” print star points. Go with them I am looking forward to seeing them.
    Your test block looks good too. What is Aunt Grace’s?
    Tamara

    Comment by Tamara | August 3, 2008 | Reply

  7. Oh, Tamara, I’m planning to do 30s on this quilt…I think it’s going to be very cute and am inspired by your “practice” (lol) block.

    Comment by Julie | August 3, 2008 | Reply

  8. oops…I wrote Tamara..I meant Bobbie – boy it must be getting late – too much piecing today…still, I do love your block.

    Comment by Julie | August 3, 2008 | Reply

  9. Bobbie I have a friend who would just love your colour combination.

    Comment by Dorothy | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  10. wow you did a fantastic job! Nice colors too!

    Comment by Erin | August 5, 2008 | Reply

  11. It is a lovely block.

    n, np

    Comment by Nancy, Near Philadelphia | August 14, 2008 | Reply

  12. Hi BBN,

    Just spent an enjoyable time, catching up reading here, think it is a long time since I visited here – and what a surprize I even rated a mention LOL
    Hope to catch you some time at the usual chat place ;0)

    Comment by Caro_Oz | October 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

