As the needle bends

A world view thru my hobbit hole door

What a Sunday… Maybe I should just go back to work!

I went and got the Wal-Marting done, after stopping by Hancock’s and picking up the background fabric for my original fabric choices for Judy’s Star BOM. A nice bone Kona cotton, and something called Bridget Gold for an accent. I like them ;0)

On my way home I ran right into a HELL of a storm. The closer to home I got, the worse it got. Just as I turned into our drive-way, DH called me to tell me NOT to come into the subdivision – but he was a little too late. I stopped fairly close to the front of the driveway because it was raining and blowing so hard I couldn’t see. It was rather like being INSIDE a washing machine on spin cycle. When it finally died down enough that I could pull on down the driveway, I saw DH’s brother, his fiancee’ and our nephew running next door to Mom and Dad’s house. While I was in the “spin cycle” a tornado/microburst/straight line winds from Hades had snapped a big tree in front of his house and buried his son’s jeep, his fiancee’s pretty little red Mustang, and landed with one end smooth in the center of the cab of his truck (which is now on the seat of his truck) and the middle on top of his mobile home. It’s a REAL mess…  

 

BiL's home, and cars after the tree fell

 
BiL’s home, and cars after the tree fell

 

That was about 3:00 this afternoon, and the power just now came back on. Now there is a pine tree on the old logging road across the ditch from us that is hitting the power line and burning.

We came through relatively unscathed but when the power came back on, we learned that there is now a tropical storm in the Gulf of Mexico and it appears to be headed straight for Galveston Bay – just down I-45 from here. The storm is supposed to make landfall early Tuesday morning, and the insurance adjuster said he won’t be able to make it to BiL’s until Tuesday. What a way to end a drought – when it rains it pours. And what kind of name for a storm is Edouard, anyway? What happened to the manly names like Bill, George, Ferdinand, or Gilbert?

To make matters worse, I didn’t get to wash my new background and accent fabrics for the BOM… In fact, I’m not sure I even told DH I bought it…. Shhhhhhhhhh ;0)

Hope everyone else had a nice, BORING Sunday!

August 3, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I’m sorry about your BIL’s disaster. I guess that’s one of those times when you just have to be grateful no one was hurt, and then just try to figure out how to get things fixed. I hope the adjuster gets out soon, and the work goes quickly.

    Comment by Candace | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  2. Oh, no, what a mess! So glad they were okay.

    Comment by Aileen | August 5, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

