As the needle bends

A world view thru my hobbit hole door

Some People Leave Footprints on Your Heart

 

 

 

 

Liz Vining   12/22/1959 - 8/18/2009

Liz Vining 12/22/1959 - 8/18/2009

 

 

Today has been a day for reflection.  My prayers are with her family. My heart hurts, but knows that Liz is not suffering – rather, she is resting in God’s loving embrace.  And I believe that I will have to celebrate our shared birthday for both of us each year, just before Christmas. 

Then I remembered this poem, which I found as a newspaper clipping, tucked away in my mother’s wallet, after she was gone… And thought this was an appropriate place to save it.

 

 

To Those I Love

 If I should ever leave you whom I love

To go along the Silent Way,

grieve not,

Nor speak of me with tears,

but laugh and talk

Of me as if I were beside you there.

(I’d come  – I’d come,

could I but find a way!

But would not tears and grief

be barriers?)

And when you hear a song

or see a bird

I loved, please do not let

the thought of me

Be sad…For I am

loving you just as

I always have…

you were so good to me!

There are so many things

I wanted still

To do – so many things

to say to you…

Remember that I

did not fear…It was

Just leaving you

That was so hard to face…

We cannot see Beyond…

But this I know:

I loved you so – ‘twas heaven

Here with you!

– Isla Paschal Richardson

Good night, my friend. We’ll see you in the sunrise!

August 18, 2009 - Posted by | Life and Ramblings

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

